Old Blue Coat School

The Old Blue Coat School is a unique and historic building nestling between Priory Row and the Priory Gardens in Coventry city centre. The current building dates from 1856, the actual school having been founded as the first Charity School for girls in Coventry in 1714.

Having not been in use for many years, it was completely refurbished as part of the Phoenix Initiative development in celebration of 2000 years since Christ’s birth.

Now run by Holy Trinity, the Old Blue Coat School has been transformed and plays an important role in the rejuvenation of this historic part of the City Centre.

The building itself was constructed over one corner of the original St Mary’s Cathedral. The evidence of this can be seen today in the cellars of the building which are actually inside one of the original pillars of the Cathedral, dating from around 1150AD.

Address: 5a Priory Row, Coventry City Centre, CV1 5EX